Кризис как муза: Фрустрация и успех в новой реальности

A man walks by a display showing the currency exchange rates of the Russian ruble against the U.S. dollar and euro in Moscow, Russia, Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016. The Russian ruble has hit another historic low against the dollar as oil prices continue to slide due to a surplus of crude oil on world markets. (AP Photo/Alexander Zemlianichenko)

Фото: AP/Александр Земляниченко

Один популярный российский топ-менеджер справедливо заметил: «Это не кризис, ребята, — это другая реальность». Очевидно, так. И в отличие от типичного кризиса, когда хочется поглубже вжаться в свое офисное кресло и, втянув голову в плечи, просто замереть так до наступления очередных «жирных» времен, текущая действительность провоцирует нас на действия. Дерзновенные, порой даже отчаянные, но действия. И на этот раз не в угоду конъюнктуре, а вопреки.

Пару лет назад портал о работе и карьере Job.ru провел опрос среди около 1000 россиян о том, что они считают успехом. Более четверти опрошенных (26,4%) ответили тогда, что основной критерий успеха – это самореализация в любимом деле или творчестве. Для сравнения, успешную карьеру и положение в обществе посчитали основным показателем успеха лишь 14,4%, а богатство — и того меньше – 8,7%.

Параллельно с вопросом «Что для вас успех?» я бы спрашивала респондентов, считают ли они себя успешными. Ставлю двадцатку, что та четверть опрошенных, что определила самореализацию в любимом деле как критерий успеха, проседает именно по этой статье. То же самое и с теми, кто вынес в первую сточку богатство, положение в обществе, etc.

Россия – регион вечной фрустрации. Достигая успеха в одной сфере жизнедеятельности, мы обнуляем ценность этих достижений, акцентируя внимание на неудачах в других сферах, и, таким образом, не даем себе право признать собственный прогресс.

Дескать, да что этот бизнес… ну, деньги, ну, положение… но я-то всегда мечтал стать музыкантом! Мне кажется, текущий кризис, а вернее, наша новая реальность, прямо сейчас, пока вы читаете этот пост, ломает эту общенациональную привычку фрустрировать. Мне кажется, благодаря этой новой реальности, мы начинаем стремиться к тому, что искренне определяем как успех, и чем, наконец, готовы будем гордиться. Как выразился эпатажный украинский журналист и арт-критик Анатолий Ульянов, кризис – это муза.

Схожее мнение выразила в беседе с Moskvaer эксперт по уникальной карьере и исполнительный директор платформы futuremakers Ксения Каширина.

«Именно в условиях сильнейших измерений в мире многие люди начинают ощущать свой потенциал, и интуитивно ищут возможности, чтобы его раскрыть и реализовать, — говорит она. – Многие молодые предприниматели не поддаются всеобщей панике по поводу кризиса. Наоборот, они видят в этом возможности найти новую нишу, отстроиться от конкурентов, а также повод внедрить инновации и выйти на международный рынок. Одним словом, это дополнительный стимул как для специалистов, так и для бизнеса задуматься над своей индивидуальностью и ее монетизацией».

По моим наблюдениям, другой мощный триггер, возникающий на волне кризиса, — это всем знакомое чувство «сейчас или никогда». В период глубокого ахтунга люди идут на риск, потому что кажется, что а) терять, в общем-то, нечего и б) дальше может быть только хуже – сейчас или никогда.

«Мы открылись в августе 2015 года, и тогда все уже было «не OK», но мы подумали: «Ну, а что делать? Надо же что-то делать», – рассказывает со-основатель кондитерской «Здесь был Чехов» в Звенигороде Александр Федорчук. – Была идея, и хотелось ее реализовать. Разум говорил: «Не надо, кризис же, переводи сбережения в доллары и не рыпайся!». Но эмоционально тяжело сидеть и ничего не делать, вот и рискуешь вопреки всему. Свою роль сыграл и тот фактор, когда думаешь, что дальше, возможно, будет еще хуже, и если не сейчас, то потом уже точно ничего не выйдет».

– Сейчас, спустя почти полгода, когда вы успели в полной мере ощутить влияние кризиса на бизнес, ты не жалеешь, что затеял все это в смутные времена, не переждав?

– Сложно сказать однозначно, потому что опыт был интересный. Кроме того, трудно отделить проблемы, рожденные кризисом, от проблем, спровоцированных собственными ошибками. Но с уверенностью могу сказать: кризис нам точно не помог! Как и антисанкции, и девальвация рубля, и снижение доходов населения, и, наконец, баклажаны по 500 рублей. Я уверен, что кризис — это не муза, а препятствие на пути к мечте. Тем более такой кризис, как у нас.

Денис Сущенко, филолог и копирайтер, также впустил радикальные перемены в свою жизнь в разгар экономического коллапса. На момент начала кризиса он работал в крупнейшей технологической корпорации, и «все было отлично». В самый разгар событий, когда доллар уже пробил отметку 70 рублей, он ушел из команды «на вольные хлеба фриланса».

– Почему?

– Просто потому что пришло время двигаться дальше. Я уверен, что в карьере, да и в жизни вообще, важно иметь стратегию, и шаги, которые ты совершаешь, должны совершаться в рамках этой стратегии. Это означает осознанный подход к жизни. Кризис же — лишь один из неприятных внешних факторов, что-то вроде бездорожья на твоем пути, которое нужно преодолеть. Однажды, в ходе мотопутешествия по Тайланду, Google завез нас на ночь глядя в дикие джунгли. Тропа то спускалась в крутой овраг, то поднималась. В самом начале пути мы спустились с пары очень крутых гор, и вернуться обратно уже не могли. Оcтавалось только двигаться дальше. Это и есть кризис. Надо просто двигаться дальше, внося по ходу дела корректировки, но не отклоняясь при этом от пути.

– Что важно, когда решаешься на перемены в турбулентность?

– Важно сохранять стойкость ума и не поддаваться панике. Инфополе накалено, люди взвинчены, СМИ гонятся за рейтингом, сообщая по несколько раз в неделю о преодолении психологических отметок, возврате в 90-е, росте уровня бедности… Все эти новости, аналитика и мнения легко могут затянуть тебя и, если не собьют с толку, то уж точно отнимут массу времени и сил. Нужно ясно понимать, какая информация и в каком объеме для тебя важна. И не принимать больше, чем следует.

– Ты доволен своим решением?

– Да, вполне. Теперь у меня больше свободного времени, объем работы уменьшился, а денег же (рублей :)) стало больше.

Об авторе Яна135 Статьи
По профессии - журналист, по призванию - кухонный философ. Обожатель Москвы и бунтарь. Фрустрирующий гедонист.

Оставьте комментарий

Что вы об этом думаете?

The Russian Crisis: Frustration And Success In A New Reality

A man walks by a display showing the currency exchange rates of the Russian ruble against the U.S. dollar and euro in Moscow, Russia, Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016. The Russian ruble has hit another historic low against the dollar as oil prices continue to slide due to a surplus of crude oil on world markets. (AP Photo/Alexander Zemlianichenko)

Main photo: AP/Alexander Zemlianichenko

Recently one of the famous top-managers in Russia said: “This is not a crisis, guys – this is a different reality.” That’s, probably, true. And, unlike the typical Russian crisis, when you just want to press deeper into your office chair, plunge your head into your shoulders and just ride it out until the next “fat” times return, the current reality rather provokes us to activity. Bold, sometimes desperate, but–activity. And this time it’s not just in favor of market conditions, but in spite of them.

A couple of years ago, the employment website Job.ru conducted a survey among about 1,000 Russians to find out what they consider success. Self-realization in a favorite business or work was mentioned as a crucial criterion of success by more than a quarter of respondents. For comparison, less than 15% highlighted career and social status, and just 8.7% gave their preference to wealth.

In parallel with the question “What is your success?” I would ask the respondents whether they consider themselves successful. I bet that exactly that quarter of respondents that identified self-realization in a favorite business as a criterion of success, sags on this point. The same with those who raised wealth, social status, etc. in the first line.

Russia is the region of eternal frustration. Achieving success in one area of life, we depreciate the value of these achievements, focusing on failures in other spheres, and thus, do not give ourselves the right to recognize our own progress.

It’s like: well, I have a successful business, money and respect… but the thing is that I always dreamed of being a musician!

I think the current crisis, or rather, our new reality, is breaking the national habit to frustrate, right now, while you read this post. I think that thanks to this new reality, we begin to strive toward things that we genuinely define as success, and become finally ready to be proud of it. In the words of Ukrainian épater les bourgeois journalist and art critic Anatoly Ulyanov, the crisis is a muse.

In an interview with Moskvaer, a similar opinion was expressed by an expert of unique careers and the Executive Director of the Futuremakers company, Xenia Kashirina.

“Precisely in terms of the strongest measurements in the world, many people are beginning to feel their potential, and intuitively look for opportunities to discover and implement them,” she says. “Many young entrepreneurs are not amenable to the overall panic over the crisis. On the contrary, they see it as an opportunity to find a new niche, to implement innovations and to enter the international market. In short, this is an extra incentive for both professionals and businesses to think more about their individuality and the monetization of it.”

According to my own observations, the other powerful trigger that occurs on a wave of a crisis is the familiar feeling of “now or never”. In a period of profound shit, people tend to take risks, because it seems that a) in general, there is nothing to lose and b) it can be worse still–so now, or never.

“We opened in August 2015, when everything was already ‘not ok’, but we thought, ‘Well, what to do? Anyway we must do something even in crisis'”- says co-founder of the “Chekhov café-bakery” in Zvenigorod, Alexander Fedorchuk. – “There was an idea, and I wanted to implement it. My mind said: ‘No, dude, it’s a crisis, just transfer your savings in dollars and don’t rock the boat!’ But emotionally it’s very hard to keep calm and do nothing, so you risk in spite of everything. A peculiar role is played by the factor of when you think that it may be even worse in the future, and if you won’t do it now, then you might not ever do it.”

– Now, after almost half a year, you probably had time to fully feel the impact of the crisis on your business. Don’t you regret starting it all in bad times, and not having waited?

– It’s hard to say for sure, because it was an interesting experience anyway. In addition, it is difficult to separate the problems that occurred because of the crisis from those that were provoked by my own mistakes. But I can say with confidence: the crisis didn’t help us at all! Neither did anti-sanctions, neither did devaluation of the ruble, neither did falling incomes, and finally, not eggplants for 500 rubles. I believe that the crisis is not a muse, but an obstacle to our dreams. Especially this particular crisis.

Denis Sushchenko, philologist and copywriter, just let big changes happen in his life in the midst of the economic collapse.

At the beginning of the crisis, he worked in the largest technology corporation, and “everything was fine”. In the midst of the collapse, when the dollar had struck the mark of 70 rubles, he left the team for “free bread freelancing”.

– Why?

– Just because it was time to move on. I am sure that in a career and in life in general, it is important to have a strategy, and the steps that you make, should be performed as part of this strategy. This means a conscious approach to life. The crisis is just one of the unpleasant external factors, something like off-road obstacles that need to be overcome. Once, during a motorcycle trip through Thailand, at nightfall Google Maps lead me to the wild jungle. The trail descended into a steep ravine, then raised back, several times in a row. At the beginning of the path I had gone down a couple of very steep hills, so I could not just get back easily. The only way out was through. This is what the crisis is. You just have to move on, making adjustments along the way, but at the same time not deviating from the path.

– What is important when deciding to go for changes in the turbulence?

– It is important to keep a stable mind and to not panic. The information field is glowing, people are inflated, the media is chasing ratings, poverty is growing, media reports several times a week on overcoming the psychological marks and on a return to the 90s… All the news, analyses and opinion can easily tighten you, and if they will not knock you down, then at least they will waste a lot of your time and effort. One must clearly understand what exact information is needed and to what extent it is important. So one should not take more of it than needed.

– Are you satisfied with your decision?

– Yes, quite satisfied. I now have more free time, the volume of work has decreased, and the revenue (in rubles ) has risen.

About Yana135 Articles
Journalist by education, barstool philosopher by heart. Moskvaer. Rebel. Frustrated hedonist.

Be the first to comment

What's on your mind?